I have always enjoyed drawing. From paper and pencil in my grandparents basement to a Wacom Tablet and Corel Painter 2016 in a college apartment.

I was looking through some old pictures, and I just thought I would compile them for the heck of it. I have had stiff fingers, tired eyes, and a whole lot of fun, so I hope you can enjoy these as well.

It all started with a search for my own preferred ‘super power’. I was a big fan of a great suit of armor and cool weapons and abilities, so I messed around with a design for a space cowboy. It was the start of a very long development of a particular design.

No automatic alt text available.
2014, a space cowboy

 

No automatic alt text available.
Further concept

I liked it a lot, but I wanted something a little more classy. Brown leather did not really work for me, so I tried something a little different.

No automatic alt text available.
Late 2014 holds a classier gunslinger

I really liked the black and bright blue. It was a dynamic concept and it seemed to synthesize well with what I was going for. But the gunslinger idea was not my favorite. I have never been much of a gun person, so I explored other ideas.

I had started college, joined a Dagorhir club (google it, its awesome) and realized that a short spear was a lot of fun to fight with.

Armed with this new inspiration, I set out to redesign.

Image may contain: drawing
The trench coat stayed, of course
No automatic alt text available.
And I played around with just how much armor I really wanted
No automatic alt text available.
So I penned and penciled plenty of pictures
No automatic alt text available.
And for a whole year I drew concept art after concept art

No automatic alt text available.

No automatic alt text available.

Image may contain: drawing
Lots and lots of concept art

It was at this time when I got my new Wacom tablet, as my old one had broken down. After a years worth of concept art, it was finally time to start designing on the computer.

No automatic alt text available.
A pen was also a weapon I was playing around with. This was mainly a warm up to get back into drawing on the computer

Lots of digital art followed after this, as I began my search for the cool design I had been working towards.

No automatic alt text available.
But most started with the pencil anyway

No automatic alt text available.

No automatic alt text available.
There is that pen again

No automatic alt text available.

No automatic alt text available.
This was, by far, my favorite design out of 2016
No automatic alt text available.
Experimented with red, but did not like it as much
No automatic alt text available.
So I went back to blue

No automatic alt text available.

So 2017 came around, and I still was not quite happy with any of it. I had this really cool idea in my head, but I was having a really hard time getting it out onto the page.

I would draw it, and the perfectionist side of me would say, “Nope! Not nearly good enough! Try harder next time.”

No automatic alt text available.
I was really happy with this one, though

So, discouraged, I took a step back and drew other things instead. I loved the idea of a black, classy, spearman with blue glowing weapons, but it just was not happening the way I wanted it to.

So I finished the semester, returned home, and warmed up with a color-inverted fighter.

Image may contain: shoes

And then I doodled something that changed everything.

This doodle of a helmet design was just the right amount of inspiration

So, after three years of searching, I painstakingly worked on the lancer I wanted to draw ever so badly. He had to look bold, tough, and defensive.

Armored, but not too heavily so that he could be mobile.

Knightly, but futuristic enough to get the glowing blue weapons.

Classy, but not overly done.

And for the first time in three years, I finished, colored, and touched up the picture, sat back, and thought, “There it is. I did it.”

I looked it over time and time again, but I could not find anything I wanted to change. The perfectionist in me was silent. I was completely happy with it, and that was different, but a long time coming.

No automatic alt text available.
mid 2017 for the win

I am not saying all of this for my pride. Rather, I say all of this in surprise, relief, and celebration. I love this design. It is very possible that more will come, but as far as I am concerned, the search is over.

I have my lancer.

So yeah, if I could be a super hero, you had better believe I would be dressed in black and silver, wielding that sweet blue energy halberd for justice.

And it all goes to show that perseverance is worth it. If you have a similar problem with an art project (or any kind of project for that matter), just stick with it. In the end, if you work hard enough and pull from the right inspiration, then it is only a matter of time.

 

Leave a Reply

